I Never Understood Mark’s Poster

Leave a comment

April 7, 2012 by Jay Helms

My freshman year of college, I lived two doors down from Mark Whipple. One thing I remember about Mark was the poster he had in his dorm room that I never understood. On the poster was a cross with a sunset and these words, “It was not the nails that held Jesus to the cross, but his love for you and me.

I never understood his poster. It just sounded like religous mumbo-jumbo to me. In fact, I thought it was wrong. Anyone with eyes could see that it was the nails that held Jesus to the cross on that night during Passover those many years ago.

I must have thought about the meaning of that poster 100 times over the years. It was not until years later that I understood that Mark’s poster was true in a profound way. My goodness, if the poster is accurate, this man is different than any other I’ve ever heard of in human history. Now when I recall the poster in Mark’s room, I hear “Gabriel’s Oboe” playing.

20120406-202016.jpg

Jesus said, “No one takes my life from me, but I sacrifice it voluntarily. For I have the authority to lay it down when I want to and also to take it up again.” – John 10:18

Leave a Reply

Jay Helms

Categories

Enter your email address to follow Echo and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

