On the Bear and The Father

2

February 7, 2013 by Jay Helms

20130207-150607.jpg

Recently, in Relevant Magazine, I read an interview with the British survivalist Bear Grylls. I have to say I was moved by his words related to understanding the human heart. Although I have long been a fan, I have to admit I never quite expected such depth and profound simplicity from Bear as it relates to knowing God. Here is what I found remarkable:

Grylls is not shy about his Christian faith—something he often refers to as the “backbone” in his life. However, he admits believing hasn’t always been as easy as it was when he was a kid. “It’s been a kinda wiggly, messy journey that is still continuing,” Grylls says.

“I remember having one moment when some really good friends turned their back on me in a really nasty way,” Grylls says. “And I remember praying a simple prayer up a tree one evening and saying, ‘God, if you’re like I knew you as a kid, would you be that friend again?’ And it was no more complicated than that. And actually the amazing thing is that all God asks is that we sort of open the door and He’ll do the rest. So often we kinda hide behind our yearning for love and acceptance with loads of complicated theological questions, and actually once that’s stripped away what we really are is just somebody who wants to have that relationship with your Father.

It’s that final sentence that is especially significant to me. Who would have thought I could learn such a life-defining truth from a guy who eats grubs and can’t pronounce “Glacier” properly? Hey Bear, it’s “glaa-sure,” not “glass-eeyore”. Everybody knows that.

2 thoughts on “On the Bear and The Father

  1. annewoodman says:

    A “wiggly, messy journey” is a great way to describe not only faith but often our entire lives as well. Well said, Bear. (And I quite like the accent. ; )

    • Jay Helms says:

      I once heard a speaker say that our spiritual journey is not linear. Once I understood the difference between linear and non-linear, I thought it was a terrific point. This isn’t a formula or a path. It is a relationship. And Bear seems to be able to make this point as well as anyone.

Leave a Reply

Jay Helms

Categories

Enter your email address to follow Echo and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 27 other followers

